fps slow down after switching fullscreen/windowed or to desktop

  • 59 Replies
  • 22340 Views

rolfgolf

  • *
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 266
« on: December 11, 2015, 05:22:07 PM »
Hi!

Before little patch the switching between fullscreen/windowed stops the game sometimes.
But now after patch 12.11.2015 21:00 MET there is a "funny" behavior:

Switching with ALT ENTER or ALT TAB seems to reduce FPS by half!!! each time.
Started with 30 fps. After one switch it has 16 fps, and after the next switch it became 7fps, 3fps....

Whithout switching windowed/fullscreen it runs fine!

Hope I can help you....

Greetings Rolf
« Last Edit: January 12, 2016, 03:15:35 PM by rolfgolf »

jcauthen04

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7482
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2015, 02:01:31 AM »
Same with me... after loading today's 'mini-update', I tried playing a quick match.  It was fine until I alt-tabbed to go to chat.  My frame rate went from 41 FPS to 17 FPS.  I backed out of the game and rebooted to try to play another round, but ran out of time before I had to go to work.  The game didn't totally freeze like it had been doing when alt-tabbing in online multiplayer, but this isn't much better.  I'll give it another go tomorrow, and hopefully, I'll have more time to play then.
Intel Core i5-4440 3.1 GHz
Geforce GTX 1060 3 GB SC Gaming, ACX 2.0
8GB PC-1600 DDR3 RAM
Windows 10 64 bit

UrsusArctos

  • *
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2175
  • Golf-Teacher EGTF
    • GrizzlyGolfAcademy
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2015, 05:38:43 AM »
Same with me... after loading today's 'mini-update', I tried playing a quick match.  It was fine until I alt-tabbed to go to chat.  My frame rate went from 41 FPS to 17 FPS.  I backed out of the game and rebooted to try to play another round, but ran out of time before I had to go to work.  The game didn't totally freeze like it had been doing when alt-tabbing in online multiplayer, but this isn't much better.  I'll give it another go tomorrow, and hopefully, I'll have more time to play then.
alt-tabbed: change that to "ctrl" or "shift"-tab in the stream settings as a workaround. Possibly its not only the Alt-Enter combo but the alt-key itself causing issue.
Chris
Steam: UrsinaArctica
Courses released: some ....

jcauthen04

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7482
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2015, 07:42:52 AM »
Same with me... after loading today's 'mini-update', I tried playing a quick match.  It was fine until I alt-tabbed to go to chat.  My frame rate went from 41 FPS to 17 FPS.  I backed out of the game and rebooted to try to play another round, but ran out of time before I had to go to work.  The game didn't totally freeze like it had been doing when alt-tabbing in online multiplayer, but this isn't much better.  I'll give it another go tomorrow, and hopefully, I'll have more time to play then.
alt-tabbed: change that to "ctrl" or "shift"-tab in the stream settings as a workaround. Possibly its not only the Alt-Enter combo but the alt-key itself causing issue.

Thanks for the tip Ursus... I'll certainly try that next time I play.  Sorry I couldn't get back up in time to play some more yesterday.  I really shouldn't try to play unless I can at least play a 9 hole course to completion in online multiplayer.  My day off on Thursday really wasn't a day off, but I did get one complete 18 hole match in... well, it only had to go 17, but it went fine with me not alt-tabbing. 
Intel Core i5-4440 3.1 GHz
Geforce GTX 1060 3 GB SC Gaming, ACX 2.0
8GB PC-1600 DDR3 RAM
Windows 10 64 bit

wirenut48

  • *
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 739
  • Retired Electrician IBEW Local 48
« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2015, 03:32:53 PM »
I haven't had a problem using shift-tab to bring up the steam overlay. Think some of the problems is the way windows handles full screen when using alt-tab to switch between apps. Should use alt-enter to toggle full screen, then alt-tab to switch between apps.
PSN/Steam Wirenut48

Asus STRIX X299-E GAMING MB, i7-7820X 3.6/4.5GHz 8-Core, 32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum (CMD16GX4M2B2400C10), NVIDIA TITAN X (Pascal), Samsung 970 Pro 1TB M.2-NVMe w/Western Digital 2TB (WD2000F9YZ), Samsung 65Q9FN QLED, HTC Vive, 850w PS, W10

mcoale2004

  • *
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • World Class Golf Revived
« Reply #5 on: December 12, 2015, 10:30:22 PM »
Same issues if I and numerous friends go to desktop to add some one to Skype or any other reason to go to desktop. When bringing the game back up and in windowed mode or alt/enter for full screen ffs drop to 3-10. Have to exit game and restart resume all normal. So even if you hit the window key by mistake to desktop same issues. All since Dec. update.
Thermaltake Level 10 GT Case
Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. G1.Sniper Z97
Intel Core i7-4790K @ OC 4.8
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (2 x 8GB)
2 x 240GB Intel 730 SSD Raid 0
2 x EVGA GTX760 SLI



Doyley

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2291
« Reply #6 on: December 13, 2015, 03:22:15 AM »
add me to the list that has experienced this - It seems to stack too - I left, came back and had 36-->17fps...window out/back in and it's down to 8fps.

wirenut48

  • *
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 739
  • Retired Electrician IBEW Local 48
« Reply #7 on: December 13, 2015, 03:59:30 AM »
I retract my earlier statement as full screen is a mess now. Going back to desktop not only reduces performance it corrupts the graphics. Screen looks washed out and over exposed, bushes glow and divots are just rectangular squares. Guess I will have to play in windowed mode until this gets sorted out.
PSN/Steam Wirenut48

Asus STRIX X299-E GAMING MB, i7-7820X 3.6/4.5GHz 8-Core, 32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum (CMD16GX4M2B2400C10), NVIDIA TITAN X (Pascal), Samsung 970 Pro 1TB M.2-NVMe w/Western Digital 2TB (WD2000F9YZ), Samsung 65Q9FN QLED, HTC Vive, 850w PS, W10

blueorfe

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 779
« Reply #8 on: December 15, 2015, 02:39:44 PM »
The same here.

I have started playing the game in windowed mode a lot more lately so I don't get these weird issues and I can freely use other apps and check messages etc.
Most times when I exit the game it says golf.exe has stopped working, I then have to manually close the game.
As Scott said, if you switch between windowed and full more than once it gets even slower.

I'm running windows 10 pro, gtx 970 on the latest driver.
Steam -  blueorfe
PSN    -   blueorfe

i5 4690k 4.1Ghz
MSI GTX 1080 Ti GAMING X
MSI z97 gaming 3
Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR3
EVGA SuperNOVA 850W
DS4 Controller
Windows 10 pro 64 bit
    
HGD Twelve Bridges Tournament Edition
HGD Walkers Heath Park

[img]http://i.imgur.com/

rolfgolf

  • *
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 266
« Reply #9 on: December 16, 2015, 03:29:50 AM »
Only for Info!

fps continues to slow down after "ALT-TAB" or "ALT-ENTER"

Patch 12.16.2015 8:00 MET
« Last Edit: December 16, 2015, 03:38:24 AM by rolfgolf »

mcoale2004

  • *
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • World Class Golf Revived
« Reply #10 on: December 16, 2015, 03:59:07 PM »
Fine in windowed mode but issue if you swing with mouse. There are times that when you do your back swing can drag the window down. You do not lose fps. Have to stop swing and recenter game. This is on a 32" 1920*1080 Sanyo. Would be nice to here if HB is coming up with a fix. Really sucks that you cant go to desktop from full screen. Also you can change the steam overlay from shift-tab to any key of your chosing in the main Steam program.  Mine is set to ` key makes it quicker to chat and close it out,my 2 cents. All i want for Christmas is my full screen back.
Thermaltake Level 10 GT Case
Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. G1.Sniper Z97
Intel Core i7-4790K @ OC 4.8
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (2 x 8GB)
2 x 240GB Intel 730 SSD Raid 0
2 x EVGA GTX760 SLI



JT_2905

  • *
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
« Reply #11 on: December 19, 2015, 10:45:12 AM »
The frame rate halving each time you switch from full screen to windowed is happening to me too since the latest update. Spec as below.
Steam JT_29O5

My best course designs:
The Roebuck (TGC1)
Stotewold Park (TGC1)
Woburn Golf Club - The Marquess (TGC1&2)

PC Spec:
i7 4790k@4.00Ghz
16 GB Ram
GTX 1080Ti
Win 10
PS4 controller

wirenut48

  • *
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 739
  • Retired Electrician IBEW Local 48
« Reply #12 on: December 20, 2015, 09:09:08 AM »
Also happens when you toggle vsync within the game.
PSN/Steam Wirenut48

Asus STRIX X299-E GAMING MB, i7-7820X 3.6/4.5GHz 8-Core, 32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum (CMD16GX4M2B2400C10), NVIDIA TITAN X (Pascal), Samsung 970 Pro 1TB M.2-NVMe w/Western Digital 2TB (WD2000F9YZ), Samsung 65Q9FN QLED, HTC Vive, 850w PS, W10

mcoale2004

  • *
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • World Class Golf Revived
« Reply #13 on: December 22, 2015, 11:46:54 AM »
new nvidia update 12/21 same issues is this being looked at ?????
Thermaltake Level 10 GT Case
Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. G1.Sniper Z97
Intel Core i7-4790K @ OC 4.8
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (2 x 8GB)
2 x 240GB Intel 730 SSD Raid 0
2 x EVGA GTX760 SLI



Brighttail

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 915
« Reply #14 on: January 05, 2016, 04:54:18 PM »
The same here.

I have started playing the game in windowed mode a lot more lately so I don't get these weird issues and I can freely use other apps and check messages etc.
Most times when I exit the game it says golf.exe has stopped working, I then have to manually close the game.
As Scott said, if you switch between windowed and full more than once it gets even slower.

I'm running windows 10 pro, gtx 970 on the latest driver.

Same thing happens to me.  Brad are you playing the 64 bit or 32 bit version.  I am on the 32 bit version cause the 64 bit still crashes my game. :(  Yes this happens going between windows/non-window mode.

 

space-cash