fps slow down after switching fullscreen/windowed or to desktop

  • 59 Replies
  • 22342 Views

jcauthen04

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7482
« Reply #30 on: February 04, 2016, 08:24:08 AM »
What can help a little as a workaround: Change the hotkey for your Steamoverlay to ctrl+tab; to be found in your steam>profile>general.


FOOOOOOOOORE: This workaround does not fix the problem nor does it allow you to use alt+enter to switch windowed/fullscreen, thats hardcoded in the game itself.

Thanks Ursus... I'll do just that!  Hope to catch you online today for a 9, or so, to test this out... and thanks for the tip.  I'm still such a Steam n00b - I really need to educate myself about it a little more.
Intel Core i5-4440 3.1 GHz
Geforce GTX 1060 3 GB SC Gaming, ACX 2.0
8GB PC-1600 DDR3 RAM
Windows 10 64 bit

jcauthen04

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7482
« Reply #31 on: February 04, 2016, 11:38:23 AM »
Your "Workaround" did the trick for me Ursus.  I was able to call the overlay up while in round in TGC, engage in a chat, close the chat and return to TGC without the slightest hint of a framerate hit.  Mucho Thanko mate!
Intel Core i5-4440 3.1 GHz
Geforce GTX 1060 3 GB SC Gaming, ACX 2.0
8GB PC-1600 DDR3 RAM
Windows 10 64 bit

UrsusArctos

  • *
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2175
  • Golf-Teacher EGTF
    • GrizzlyGolfAcademy
« Reply #32 on: February 04, 2016, 11:44:40 AM »
your welcome  :)  It just does NOT SOLVE the problem  ;)
« Last Edit: February 04, 2016, 11:46:38 AM by UrsusArctos »
Chris
Steam: UrsinaArctica
Courses released: some ....

Dusty Roads

  • *
  • Guest
« Reply #33 on: February 04, 2016, 03:36:50 PM »
I just played a round and the same thing happens to me in game as it does in the designer. The washed out graphics, etc.


On a better note, I plugged in my PS3 controller and hit 100% every shot versus about 50% with my tracball and 75-85% with gaming optical mouse.

So it has something to do with the ALT key from the research these guys have been doing.

mcoale2004

  • *
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • World Class Golf Revived
« Reply #34 on: February 04, 2016, 06:40:23 PM »
What can help a little as a workaround: Change the hotkey for your Steamoverlay to ctrl+tab; to be found in your steam>profile>general.


FOOOOOOOOORE: This workaround does not fix the problem nor does it allow you to use alt+enter to switch windowed/fullscreen, thats hardcoded in the game itself.

Thanks Ursus... I'll do just that!  Hope to catch you online today for a 9, or so, to test this out... and thanks for the tip.  I'm still such a Steam n00b - I really need to educate myself about it a little more.








You can use any key to bring up your overlay to keep it eat and simple i use the ` key only above the tab key. Only 1 key to use.
Thermaltake Level 10 GT Case
Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. G1.Sniper Z97
Intel Core i7-4790K @ OC 4.8
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (2 x 8GB)
2 x 240GB Intel 730 SSD Raid 0
2 x EVGA GTX760 SLI



ErnieTheWels

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 229
« Reply #35 on: February 06, 2016, 08:42:13 AM »
let people find workarounds is STILL NOT solving the problem. it still exists .
my rig : amd phenom II black edition quadcore 3.4 GHz -8 GByte ram - Nvidia 660 GTX

mcoale2004

  • *
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • World Class Golf Revived
« Reply #36 on: March 01, 2016, 08:52:28 PM »
Now March 1st still no fix for full screen. Please dev department FIX this issue, Playing in widow mode as a mouse player 15% of the time start back swing to high and pull the game down. 32" monitor cant you just roll back the mini update you did in December,
Thermaltake Level 10 GT Case
Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. G1.Sniper Z97
Intel Core i7-4790K @ OC 4.8
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (2 x 8GB)
2 x 240GB Intel 730 SSD Raid 0
2 x EVGA GTX760 SLI



rolfgolf

  • *
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 266
« Reply #37 on: March 13, 2016, 03:37:45 AM »
Sorry for posting again!
But every time I switch to forum for looking or repleying to new courses I have to restart TGC again because the fps drops to unplayable.
Is there any chance to rollback to a previous version of TGC untill it will be fixed?
Dont understand me wrong. You created a great golfgame, but this bug is really nerving.

Jimgem

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1715
« Reply #38 on: March 24, 2016, 09:44:55 AM »
Come on HB this was reported in dec of last year and still nothing' Huge major pain in the ass if you have to alt/tab to do something, and no i don't want to play it in windowed mode for a work around.This should be fixed or atleast tell us that you're looking into it...
i7 4790k 4.40Ghz
MSI GTX 1080ti
H100i (AIO)
MSI GD65 gaming m-board
16Gb Corsair Vengeance Ram
Corsair Scimitar Mouse
Xbox 360 Controller
Corsair K70 Lux RGB keyboard
Youtube TGC 2019 playlist- https://goo.gl/P2Xdxc

DivotMaker

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6766
  • Steam - DivotMaker
« Reply #39 on: March 24, 2016, 10:54:34 AM »
Come on HB this was reported in dec of last year and still nothing' Huge major pain in the ass if you have to alt/tab to do something, and no i don't want to play it in windowed mode for a work around.This should be fixed or atleast tell us that you're looking into it...

If this was not an issue before, then it is nVidia and AMD driver issue. If this has been the problem since day one (I am 2 weeks into the PC version), then it is an HBS issue.....
PC

Xbox One X

Xbox One Elite Controller

TaS

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1446
« Reply #40 on: March 24, 2016, 11:00:34 AM »
I've tried to use the transparency method and it happens.  Very annoying.  Is rolling back the video card driver the only solution?

wirenut48

  • *
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 739
  • Retired Electrician IBEW Local 48
« Reply #41 on: March 25, 2016, 12:28:06 AM »
Come on HB this was reported in dec of last year and still nothing' Huge major pain in the ass if you have to alt/tab to do something, and no i don't want to play it in windowed mode for a work around.This should be fixed or atleast tell us that you're looking into it...

If this was not an issue before, then it is nVidia and AMD driver issue. If this has been the problem since day one (I am 2 weeks into the PC version), then it is an HBS issue.....

Think it's a bit of both at this point. HB put out a mini patch with a workaround for a driver bug which was crashing the game for some. So now it's like were stuck with the less of the two evils.
PSN/Steam Wirenut48

Asus STRIX X299-E GAMING MB, i7-7820X 3.6/4.5GHz 8-Core, 32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum (CMD16GX4M2B2400C10), NVIDIA TITAN X (Pascal), Samsung 970 Pro 1TB M.2-NVMe w/Western Digital 2TB (WD2000F9YZ), Samsung 65Q9FN QLED, HTC Vive, 850w PS, W10

Matt10

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 148
    • http://www.tgctours.com/Tour/Signup?tourId=5
« Reply #42 on: April 04, 2016, 10:53:05 PM »
This is definitely still happening, and what's worse it affects my OBS streaming because I can't switch back and forth from full screen to windowed, and vice-versa.
Founder/Admin of True Sim Tour on tgctours
Join today - http://www.tgctours.com/Tour/Signup?tourId=5
No Aids, Realistic Scoring, Real GOLF

grayefc

  • *
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
« Reply #43 on: June 11, 2016, 06:10:23 PM »
I have had this

I don't have use steam overlay.
My courses

Barren isle links (9 hole par 3)
Northwest links pin 1-4
Half baked Alaska
Scots pine Ilse

In Progress

Northwest Links 2015
Scots Pine Isle 2015
Half Baked Alaska 2015 (country side version, major rework of the course)
Unnamed course 9 holes complete so far.

Dr_Akek

  • *
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
« Reply #44 on: June 25, 2016, 12:00:12 PM »
Another one with the problem here, all fps measurements in Main Menu and with nVidia Shadowplay fps-Overlay, on my machine the game runs with VSync activated at stable 60 fps, ALT+TAB puts the game in windowed mode and reduces the fps to a stable 40, ALT+ENTER brings the game back to full screen and halves the fps to stable 20 fps, ALT+TAB again puts the game in windowed mode running at stable 18 fps, ALT+ENTER brings it back to full screen running at stable 12 fps, ALT+TAB windowed mode 10 fps, you see where this is going.

If you need further information, fell free to ask! :)

 

space-cash