performance loss on PC side

  • 47 Replies
  • 20838 Views

UrsusArctos

  • *
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2175
  • Golf-Teacher EGTF
    • GrizzlyGolfAcademy
« Reply #15 on: January 24, 2016, 11:25:11 AM »
Hard to believe it should be an AMD problem when it says Nvidia on your grafics card, isn't it?
Chris
Steam: UrsinaArctica
Courses released: some ....

ADX321

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5235
« Reply #16 on: January 24, 2016, 11:41:05 AM »
So this is it?
Thank you for buying this game, but you wont be able to play it decent?

And this happens all the time in gaming

A game called Crysis came out and NOBODY could run it well at high resolutions.  That's part of pc gaming... there are always going to be incompatibilities.  But... it runs this game so much better than consoles when it has the right hardware combo it's crazy how different is.

Courses I claim in order of how I like em

Pacific Bluffs Golf Club
Soggy Bottom Golf Club
Old Beaver Creek (With Reebdoog)
Deliverance Golf Club
Semmock Golf Club
Oak National
Hanging Tree
Potrornak Links

ErnieTheWels

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 229
« Reply #17 on: January 24, 2016, 12:55:05 PM »
Ernie, the answers to your problem have been given to you. AMD and the Unity engine do not work well together. As for a fix, HB has not given us any answers to how to fix this and blame AMD for the problems.

A high end card of any brand should run this game but if the engine and brand aren't compatible, well, simply put, we can't do nothing about it.
point 1 ) : my specs - amd phenom II x4 3.4GHz - 8GB - NVIDIA GTX 660
point 2 ) : from 1rst day of early access till september update i WAS ABLE to play High settings, 1920x1080, details 3 and got 35 to 45 fps on EVERY course
point 3 ) : since september i needed to switch back to  medium, details 1 and get rarely 25 fps
point 4 ) : i gave my rig to a specialist who tested it and he said : no need to worry,everything work perfect

summary : its NOT an AMD problem,it happened with the september update and got worse with december update,bofore both game ran fine and smooth. so why is any1 telling me its amd´s fault.with updating to win 10 ALL my other games made a progress and are faster and smoother than ever,but not TGC .
my rig : amd phenom II black edition quadcore 3.4 GHz -8 GByte ram - Nvidia 660 GTX

ErnieTheWels

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 229
« Reply #18 on: January 24, 2016, 08:47:09 PM »
and i found something very interesting about the unityengine and its so called problems.maybe some points in there to think about :

http://www.theguardian.com/technology/2015/jul/06/unity-indie-gamings-biggest-engine-john-riccitiello
my rig : amd phenom II black edition quadcore 3.4 GHz -8 GByte ram - Nvidia 660 GTX

Dusty Roads

  • *
  • Guest
« Reply #19 on: January 24, 2016, 08:59:11 PM »
Ernie, are other Nvidia owners reporting the same problem(s). If so, then there is a problem but your's is the first as most Nviidia owners are playing and not reporting.

ErnieTheWels

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 229
« Reply #20 on: January 25, 2016, 10:30:12 AM »
I dont have a clue,as there is no chat where i could ask.but my nvidia 660 gtx is a very popular card drivers up to date,so might have some more people with these issues.if anyone has,please add your comment in here.


Gesendet von meinem HTC One S mit Tapatalk

my rig : amd phenom II black edition quadcore 3.4 GHz -8 GByte ram - Nvidia 660 GTX

stan_solo

  • *
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3634
« Reply #21 on: January 25, 2016, 10:31:00 AM »
and i found something very interesting about the unityengine and its so called problems.maybe some points in there to think about :

http://www.theguardian.com/technology/2015/jul/06/unity-indie-gamings-biggest-engine-john-riccitiello

Interesting read ....... I believe HB are using the Unity 4 version whereas Perfect Golf has moved onto Unity 5

If HB make a sequel,it's hard to see them using any other engine ...... due to financial restraints and ease of coding.

wirenut48

  • *
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 746
  • Retired Electrician IBEW Local 48
« Reply #22 on: January 25, 2016, 11:52:32 AM »
Hey Ernie, thought I'd add my experience with this game and updates, hope it helps. I didn't notice any performance drops from any game updates though I'm running a newer gen card. But did notice a significant drop when upgrading to W10 with my 780 Ti, probably about 10 fps. I was running a 760 when I first bought the game during EA. At the time I felt like the 760 would be the low end for running this game on High at 1080. In game setting I had set to detail 1 and trees to 800 or 2 and 500 (I believe been a while) to get steady fps above 30 to mid 40's. Which was the reason I upgraded to the 780 Ti (when prices dropped do to the 900 series release) and now get 2 to 3 times the FPS at 1080 or run the game at 1620 DSR resolution at 40 fps.

So you probably not going to see any improvement with your card as the polygon count keeps rising in game. It's a shame this game takes so much horse power to run. But it sure looks nice by them pushing the graphics to the limit if you do have the HP to run it.

PS edit: Starliner has a 970 and it preforms real close to mine, even exceeds in fps depending on the resolution.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2016, 12:07:52 PM by wirenut48 »
PSN/Steam Wirenut48

Asus STRIX X299-E GAMING MB, i7-7820X 3.6/4.5GHz 8-Core, 32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum (CMD16GX4M2B2400C10), NVIDIA TITAN X (Pascal), Samsung 970 Pro 1TB M.2-NVMe w/Western Digital 2TB (WD2000F9YZ), Samsung 65Q9FN QLED, HTC Vive, 850w PS, W10

ErnieTheWels

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 229
« Reply #23 on: January 26, 2016, 06:05:19 PM »
i just gambled around with ingame graphic settings and as soon as i goto waterdetail level 2 my fps drop to 50% of what i have with level 1. before that feature was released never had these fps breakdowns,maybe a point to have a look at. as i got no answer i dont know if this post is even noticed, but who knows .
my rig : amd phenom II black edition quadcore 3.4 GHz -8 GByte ram - Nvidia 660 GTX

ErnieTheWels

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 229
« Reply #24 on: January 28, 2016, 12:09:19 PM »
15th of january i posted this,there are more posts like this that are older, so why is there no responce from HB ????
my rig : amd phenom II black edition quadcore 3.4 GHz -8 GByte ram - Nvidia 660 GTX

ErnieTheWels

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 229
« Reply #25 on: January 29, 2016, 07:50:41 PM »
updated NVIDIA driver , NOTHING changed in TGC , but my other games and i mean all of them won fps, some more some less, but everywhere i see a progress . cant even go back to last very well working driver ( 347.08 ) as it says that it isnt compatible with my OS ( WIN 10 64 bit ).

and still the fact : before september update i had between 35 and 45 fps in 1920x1080 , high settings , details 3 . trees 200 , distance 1500 ....atm 25 fps and less ( overfly hole 15 fps to 20 fps ) in 1920 x 1080 , medium settings, detail 1 , 100 trees , distance 500 .... unplayable and its all measured on a course ( Laacher See GC ) i build  bout a year ago and played 70+ rounds on, so i know how well it worked before september update. and it happened not with any driver change, it happened at the day this update was released and got worse with december update  . fact !
« Last Edit: January 29, 2016, 07:55:49 PM by ErnieTheWels »
my rig : amd phenom II black edition quadcore 3.4 GHz -8 GByte ram - Nvidia 660 GTX

ErnieTheWels

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 229
« Reply #26 on: March 12, 2016, 07:00:50 PM »
now, few months and a lotta new drivers from nvidia later, still the performance is gone to hell....any news from HB side ??
my rig : amd phenom II black edition quadcore 3.4 GHz -8 GByte ram - Nvidia 660 GTX

RockManDan

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3166
  • Without Great Courses There Can Be No Great Golf
« Reply #27 on: March 13, 2016, 01:30:08 PM »
and i found something very interesting about the unityengine and its so called problems.maybe some points in there to think about :

http://www.theguardian.com/technology/2015/jul/06/unity-indie-gamings-biggest-engine-john-riccitiello

So the gyst of this is that we're all trying to run an Indy car on a Yugo engine.  That sounds about right.  Built around a $1500 platform, my personal PC cost twice that.  No wonder he problems with Sony ceritification all the time.  It always works fine on my PS4 but not my PC. AND YES, I KNOW that the PS4 version is also built on the unity platform........ It seems that Sony is making them put aftermarket parts on the unity engine to assure that it works for PS4 owners.

The picture is becoming much clearer now.
i9 9900k 8 Core 5.O GHz. 
Asus ROG STRIX Z390 E Gaming.
64 GB DDR4 3600 RAM
2X Samsung 970 EVO 500 GB m2 RAID level 0
EVGA GTX 1080 SC. Windows 10 64 Bit
Rosewill Hive 1000W PSU

filth

  • *
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
« Reply #28 on: March 19, 2016, 03:42:12 PM »
Hi all thought i would throw my hat in the ring  ;D

I am ruining this on 2 980ti's and a high end i7. this game cannot be run on maximum. i have it at half way for the amount of high res tree's and the tree distance, and i also hive the object detail down a notch, i still get low frames rate randomly and the odd glitch when i take my shot.
This game has no optimization.
For those with Nvidia cards and have moved to windows 10 please note that Dx12 and windows ten gives ALL Nvidia cards a lower frame rate output.

DivotMaker

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6766
  • Steam - DivotMaker
« Reply #29 on: March 19, 2016, 03:49:20 PM »
Hi all thought i would throw my hat in the ring  ;D

I am ruining this on 2 980ti's and a high end i7. this game cannot be run on maximum. i have it at half way for the amount of high res tree's and the tree distance, and i also hive the object detail down a notch, i still get low frames rate randomly and the odd glitch when i take my shot.
This game has no optimization.
For those with Nvidia cards and have moved to windows 10 please note that Dx12 and windows ten gives ALL Nvidia cards a lower frame rate output.

Interesting....I just finally upgraded my PC (specs in sig) and I am running most courses on High Detail at 1080p and 4 on Object detail and 700+ yards an trees and drawing distances and averaging 55-60+ in FPS.....not sure why your rig is struggling....
PC

Xbox One X

Xbox One Elite Controller

 

space-cash