Video Card for 4K

  • 12 Replies
  • 3673 Views

wmadan

  • *
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
« on: July 14, 2017, 05:13:41 PM »
In order to achieve 60 fps in TGC2 at 4K, how good of a video card must I get?

Brighttail

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 915
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2017, 06:28:19 PM »
A 1080ti or Titan X will accomplish this.  Tho beware, playing at 4k without g-sync, even with a 1080ti can get  pretty choppy.  There are a few 4k monitors with G-sync but they are expensive.

RockManDan

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3361
  • Without Great Courses There Can Be No Great Golf
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2017, 10:40:36 PM »
I'm running a 1080 SC and getting 60+ consistently on 4K.
i9 9900k 8 Core 5.O GHz. 
Asus ROG STRIX Z390 E Gaming.
64 GB DDR4 3600 RAM
2X Samsung 970 EVO 500 GB m2 RAID level 0
EVGA GTX 1080 SC. Windows 10 64 Bit
Rosewill Hive 1000W PSU

scajjr2

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 126
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2017, 11:35:16 PM »
A GTX1070 or better will do it, you might have to lower a setting or 2. I can it  just fine on our living room HTPC( Intel G4560, 16Gb DDR4, GTX1070 8Gb) hooked up to our 65" 4k TV.

Sam
i9-9900k,Asus ROG Strix Z390-E,32Gb DDR4, Samsung PM981 1Tb PCIe NVMe & 850 EVO 1Tb SSDs ,3Tb HD, EVGA RTX 2080Ti XC Hybrid,  Vizio D40u-D1 Monoprice 32" 4K x2, Win 10 x64, XB1 controller

Laptop- Eluktronics (Clevo) P670RS-G i7-6700hq, 16Gb, 512Gb SSD, GTX1070 8Gb, 17" g-sync

Xbox One X
PS4 Pro

Brighttail

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 915
« Reply #4 on: July 16, 2017, 12:14:02 AM »
For the record yes a 1070 will play 4k golf.  I did it with TGC 1 while I was waiting for the 1080TI water block to come.  Have to lower settings to Medium and low but it will work at 60fps pretty steady. There is fluxuation tho but since my 4k monitor has g-sync there was no stuttering.

DivotMaker

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6766
  • Steam - DivotMaker
« Reply #5 on: July 16, 2017, 12:37:15 AM »
Begins and ends with the GTX 1080 Ti.  I had the standard GTX 1080 and it ran just under 50 fps at the same settings I have now. Now I am at 70 fps with everything maxed internally except fog shadows.  That one really impacts the fps heavily regardless of whether fog is present or not.  You could lower some settings and still do 4k @ 60 fps on a lesser card but, in any case, I would not go lower than a GTX 1060.

THIS.
PC

Xbox One X

Xbox One Elite Controller

jhellerud

  • *
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
« Reply #6 on: July 17, 2017, 09:56:30 PM »
how do i even select a 4k resolution? i dont have the option and i have a 4k tv hooked up to my PC.

RockManDan

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3361
  • Without Great Courses There Can Be No Great Golf
« Reply #7 on: July 17, 2017, 10:19:46 PM »
HDMI Cable in input.  1 or. 2 should be marked 4K on the back of your TV
i9 9900k 8 Core 5.O GHz. 
Asus ROG STRIX Z390 E Gaming.
64 GB DDR4 3600 RAM
2X Samsung 970 EVO 500 GB m2 RAID level 0
EVGA GTX 1080 SC. Windows 10 64 Bit
Rosewill Hive 1000W PSU

jhellerud

  • *
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
« Reply #8 on: July 18, 2017, 12:33:29 AM »
HDMI Cable in input.  1 or. 2 should be marked 4K on the back of your TV

all my inputs have let me desktop resolution be 4k but in game graphics for tgc2 it doesnt let me pick anything above 1080

Thrangar

  • *
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1824
« Reply #9 on: July 19, 2017, 05:37:55 PM »
HDMI Cable in input.  1 or. 2 should be marked 4K on the back of your TV

all my inputs have let me desktop resolution be 4k but in game graphics for tgc2 it doesnt let me pick anything above 1080

I think you can force DSR on any game...you have gforce?
Proud Member of the sub par club at McKee McGrodo (black Widow)

DivotMaker

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6766
  • Steam - DivotMaker
« Reply #10 on: July 19, 2017, 05:43:24 PM »
HDMI Cable in input.  1 or. 2 should be marked 4K on the back of your TV

all my inputs have let me desktop resolution be 4k but in game graphics for tgc2 it doesnt let me pick anything above 1080

I think you can force DSR on any game...you have gforce?

DSR?
PC

Xbox One X

Xbox One Elite Controller

Thrangar

  • *
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1824
« Reply #11 on: July 19, 2017, 06:25:34 PM »
Proud Member of the sub par club at McKee McGrodo (black Widow)

DivotMaker

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6766
  • Steam - DivotMaker
« Reply #12 on: July 19, 2017, 06:27:09 PM »
PC

Xbox One X

Xbox One Elite Controller

 

space-cash