Please add Resolution Scaling to video options

  • 13 Replies
  • 2987 Views

Seamount4Life

  • *
  • golf-beta
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1041
  • www.raincitygamers.com
    • Rain City Gamers
« on: July 31, 2017, 01:50:10 PM »
I've mentioned it in the past but wanted to reiterate it to make sure it made a Dev's 'To-do" list if possible.

Please allow a slider option in video settings where we can change the resolution scaling. As someone who plays on a 4k TV and only has 1920x1080 or 3840x2160 resolution options, this would be world changing for me.

Thanks!!!

HB_KeithC

  • *
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5657
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2017, 03:38:24 PM »
Added to the request list.

Seamount4Life

  • *
  • golf-beta
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1041
  • www.raincitygamers.com
    • Rain City Gamers
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2017, 05:39:29 PM »
Thanks Keith!

gerardfraser

  • *
  • Guest
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2017, 11:35:29 PM »
You can just set your desktop to any resolution and the game will play in that resolution.

Seamount4Life

  • *
  • golf-beta
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1041
  • www.raincitygamers.com
    • Rain City Gamers
« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2017, 02:50:38 PM »
My TV Supports 1080p and 4K resolutions. That is it.

My comp can run TGC2 in 4k but in order to consistently get 60FPS I have to play on Low/Medium settings. Would rather play in 4k Ultra settings, then scale down the resolution to 70-80% of 4k. basically playing at 3k-3.5k on Ultra instead of 4k low/med. (This can also be used to Upscale lower res monitors to look crisper and cleaner, much like the PS4 Pro does with Checkerboarding. So if your comp can run at 1440p but you only have a 1080p monitor, you can upscale the 1080p image to 1440p making even the 1080p image look very clean)

There are other games that offer this (PUBG, BF1, The Surge, etc.)

DivotMaker

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6766
  • Steam - DivotMaker
« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2017, 04:00:43 PM »
My TV Supports 1080p and 4K resolutions. That is it.

My comp can run TGC2 in 4k but in order to consistently get 60FPS I have to play on Low/Medium settings. Would rather play in 4k Ultra settings, then scale down the resolution to 70-80% of 4k. basically playing at 3k-3.5k on Ultra instead of 4k low/med. (This can also be used to Upscale lower res monitors to look crisper and cleaner, much like the PS4 Pro does with Checkerboarding. So if your comp can run at 1440p but you only have a 1080p monitor, you can upscale the 1080p image to 1440p making even the 1080p image look very clean)

There are other games that offer this (PUBG, BF1, The Surge, etc.)

What video card do you have?

I am on a 1440p monitor playing at 4K due to a setting in the nVidia control panel (DSR) that scales the image up to 4K but outputs at 1440p if that makes sense. Basically I am getting 4K on a 1440p monitor for free.

Is that something that would interest you?
PC

Xbox One X

Xbox One Elite Controller

gerardfraser

  • *
  • Guest
« Reply #6 on: August 01, 2017, 04:22:24 PM »
@Seamount4Life

I understand what you are saying,but you can still set your resolution on your computer and play at any resolution on your TV.(2688x1512, 2944x1656, 3072x1728, 3200x1800 what you should be shooting for but 3072x1728 is 80% of 4K,you could also add resolutions like 3440x1440)

There are a few ways to do this.You can make adjustments for any blurriness or weird scaling but it can be done to look perfect while gaming.

Custom Resolution Utility (CRU) works with AMD/Nvidia also you can create custom resolutions with AMD/Nvidia .Just google setting for the resolution you want.
https://www.monitortests.com/forum/Thread-Custom-Resolution-Utility-CRU




Seamount4Life

  • *
  • golf-beta
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1041
  • www.raincitygamers.com
    • Rain City Gamers
« Reply #7 on: August 01, 2017, 06:55:58 PM »
My TV Supports 1080p and 4K resolutions. That is it.

My comp can run TGC2 in 4k but in order to consistently get 60FPS I have to play on Low/Medium settings. Would rather play in 4k Ultra settings, then scale down the resolution to 70-80% of 4k. basically playing at 3k-3.5k on Ultra instead of 4k low/med. (This can also be used to Upscale lower res monitors to look crisper and cleaner, much like the PS4 Pro does with Checkerboarding. So if your comp can run at 1440p but you only have a 1080p monitor, you can upscale the 1080p image to 1440p making even the 1080p image look very clean)

There are other games that offer this (PUBG, BF1, The Surge, etc.)

What video card do you have?

I am on a 1440p monitor playing at 4K due to a setting in the nVidia control panel (DSR) that scales the image up to 4K but outputs at 1440p if that makes sense. Basically I am getting 4K on a 1440p monitor for free.

Is that something that would interest you?

I have a NVidia GTX 1080. And yeah that would interest me if I can do if for just one program (IE TGC2 or any other games I would choose). I know in the Nvidia settings you can do certain things per program (Like in PUBG I have it use VSYNC since they haven't added it to the in-game menu yet), but I have not seen a scaling option. Would love to do this if possible for just TGC2.



@Seamount4Life

I understand what you are saying,but you can still set your resolution on your computer and play at any resolution on your TV.(2688x1512, 2944x1656, 3072x1728, 3200x1800 what you should be shooting for but 3072x1728 is 80% of 4K,you could also add resolutions like 3440x1440)

There are a few ways to do this.You can make adjustments for any blurriness or weird scaling but it can be done to look perfect while gaming.

Custom Resolution Utility (CRU) works with AMD/Nvidia also you can create custom resolutions with AMD/Nvidia .Just google setting for the resolution you want.
https://www.monitortests.com/forum/Thread-Custom-Resolution-Utility-CRU

OK sorry, was just clarifying my situation since it isn't a standard PC at a Desk with monitor, keyboard, mouse, etc. I have a tower that goes to a KS8000 4k TV with another 1080p TV as the second monitor. I sit on my couch and play everything with a controller (Including PUBG, Overwatch, ETC.)

Anyway, what you are saying may work but I don't want to fiddle with my settings for just one game then have to change it back. and there are many other games that I can run just fine at 4k with no issues. I just need to dial back TGC2 a little bit in the resolution department so I can crank the graphical settings and still hit 60FPS. I also stream a lot which uses resources as well. So many times I can run the game just fine but when I stream I have to dial back the settings to keep the same framerate.

This is why a video / resolution scaling slider would be ideal.



Appreciate both of your guys' help on this!
« Last Edit: August 01, 2017, 07:04:47 PM by Seamount4Life »

gerardfraser

  • *
  • Guest
« Reply #8 on: August 01, 2017, 07:16:07 PM »
Sounds good to me,just making a suggestion.
I also have 4k/1080 and play from the couch also lol,2 keyboards/2mouse/2controllers  but on GTX 1080ti.I use hot keys to change between displays with different resolution blah,blah,blah.It is very convenient for me. 

Seamount4Life

  • *
  • golf-beta
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1041
  • www.raincitygamers.com
    • Rain City Gamers
« Reply #9 on: August 01, 2017, 07:50:02 PM »
Sounds good to me,just making a suggestion.
I also have 4k/1080 and play from the couch also lol,2 keyboards/2mouse/2controllers  but on GTX 1080ti.I use hot keys to change between displays with different resolution blah,blah,blah.It is very convenient for me.

^^^ Awesome! Sounds like I came to the right place then. I will play around with some settings and pick your brain if needed. I am very new to the PC world so I have a huge blindspot for most of this stuff.

If I can hot key or easily change things per game then that is a perfect solution if I don't get sliders for it in game.

Thanks so much for this!
« Last Edit: August 01, 2017, 08:11:39 PM by Seamount4Life »

Seamount4Life

  • *
  • golf-beta
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1041
  • www.raincitygamers.com
    • Rain City Gamers
« Reply #10 on: August 02, 2017, 04:04:14 PM »
I played around with this a little.

wasn't able to see the DSR options (I also didn't spend too much time looking it up)

I did try adjusting the Resolution, but the issue is my TV doesn't support it. If it isn't 1920x1080 or 3840x2160 it puts black bars on the sides.

Did you run into this too?
Is there a way to resolve that?

Thanks!
« Last Edit: August 03, 2017, 06:16:44 PM by Seamount4Life »

davidallen1968

  • *
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
« Reply #11 on: August 02, 2017, 04:31:54 PM »
Be nice to see HDR setting on xbox and in 4K ultra


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

davidallen1968

  • *
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
« Reply #12 on: August 02, 2017, 04:33:19 PM »
Added to the request list.
Will HDR be added to Xbox or ultra setting.
Depth of field too.
Thanks HB_KeithC


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

HB_KeithC

  • *
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5657
« Reply #13 on: August 02, 2017, 06:25:18 PM »
Don't have any info on that at the moment.

 

space-cash