Steam -> Game is constantly freezing

• 3 Replies

PhantomDW

« on: January 18, 2020, 04:55:09 PM »
I do not want to go through the specs and blah blah, I have a degree in computers, and I have had this machine thoroughly checked out, both by myself and a professional service. The machine is fine and the problem, barring perhaps a setting or some unknown issue I am unaware of, is not with the machine itself.

Having said that, this issue started in early December, prior to that the game ran absolutely fine. This is my Dad's machine and it is pretty barren of programs, save Steam, his golf games, and Discord (and some other Office stuff), so there is nothing much on this machine that would bog it down.

Starting in December, TGC 2019 +PGA, along with Perfect Golf as well, started freezing up after a few holes of play, and now it is happening within 1 hole of play. He has tried this with solo play as well as online matches, and the same thing keeps happening. I have tried some known issue fixes and none of those seem to fix the problem. As I have stated, the machine itself is perfectly fine, so I know its not the computer, again, barring some unknown setting or some driver issue I may be unaware of.

Does anyone know of anything that could be causing this issue to happen? Or perhaps have had this problem and know of a solution? GPU is a GTX 960, all the settings are correct, etc., etc. The GPU has been tested and it is operating normally.

Any information you guys can provide would be helpful, thank you.

wirenut48

• Retired Electrician IBEW Local 48
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2020, 03:54:25 AM »
These golf games are very graphic intense and can stress your system. I would try dropping the in games graphic settings to a minimum and see if your card will handle that. If it does it may be time for an upgrade. You mentioned installing a new PS on the steam forum. This may of allowed that card to operate at a higher power level and is now overheating.
PSN/Steam Wirenut48