Taking better photos of your golf course...

  • 29 Replies
  • 17988 Views

kwake

  • *
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
« Reply #15 on: August 02, 2014, 08:39:44 PM »
Quote
Personally, I am using Postimg.org right now.  You can upload your pictures in just a couple of clicks.  Once they are up, choose the Direct Link and post it here wrapped in IMG tags.

Thanks again Bradley, great tips.

Stein276

  • *
  • Guest
« Reply #16 on: August 02, 2014, 08:58:36 PM »
Thanks Bradley, good info and good to know.

ObsoleteNexus

  • *
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 649
« Reply #17 on: August 13, 2014, 01:00:43 AM »
Thanks Bradley used your advice to do my latest screen shots and they are much better.
Courses Created: (my ranking)

Old Turramurra: Est 1878 HD
Manjimup Golf Club
Clifton Golf Club Final



BruceM

  • *
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 777
« Reply #18 on: September 05, 2014, 03:29:09 PM »
So whats the solution If your using a PS4 ?

Static

  • *
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
« Reply #19 on: September 09, 2014, 06:19:28 PM »
Check out my post in the PS4 general forum.  I've asked the question about screenshots for the console and Lorin replied that features for the PC were accidentally left in! I'd have thought it would have been a standard across all builds to capture shots,  but hey what do I know.

I personally would like to see an option for PS4 to capture shots without showing the HUD information on the screen as it's one of those omissions that's bugging me not being able to produce quality pictures like all of the PC users can.

Would be good if the devs could confirm if a plan is in the offing to allow the same feature on consoles.
« Last Edit: September 09, 2014, 06:22:30 PM by Clubman »

Dr. Yeti

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 736
  • Handicap: 10
    • My 2014 Golf Stats (RL)
« Reply #20 on: September 09, 2014, 06:23:40 PM »
I think the problem is not the taking of photos on the consoles,  but where the images go to (on disc), and how a console user would get them out of the console's hard drive to post online.

BruceM

  • *
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 777
« Reply #21 on: October 01, 2014, 10:37:34 AM »
So has anyone found a way to get images from the PS4 to a published course ?

Spacedeck

  • *
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
« Reply #22 on: October 01, 2014, 10:43:54 AM »
So has anyone found a way to get images from the PS4 to a published course ?

How have you been taking the images?  Using the PS4's screenshot (is this called snapshot?)  If you used that, I think you either have to use transfer it over using a USB of some sorts.  Or maybe you can upload to Twitter, tween the picture and then save it from your Twitter acc?

Bit of a long process for just an image..

*I haven't actually done this, I just did a quick Google search.  So don't get me if I'm way way off ;D.

Scarpacci

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1691
« Reply #23 on: October 07, 2014, 10:00:57 PM »
So has anyone found a way to get images from the PS4 to a published course ?

What I did:

Played a round, used the scout camera to "frame" this pic I wanted and took a screen shot using the share button on the controller.  You do have the HUD and holde distance in the shot (there may be a way to remove that I'm not aware of).  Then I saved the screen shots onto a USB drive, resized to meet the forum requirements and attached to a post.

What I will do in the future:

Same steps to capture, but I will host the images online and link to them in the post instead. 

Dusty Roads

  • *
  • Guest
« Reply #24 on: August 28, 2015, 03:07:06 PM »
The PS4 can upload screenshots from both within and outside of games. To capture and upload a screenshot, press the Share button on the DualShock 4. This takes a snapshot and opens a menu. You may alternatively hold the Share button down for one second to take a picture without the menu prompt. Select Upload Screenshot, then select the appropriate image.

Choose either Twitter or Facebook for your upload. If this is your first upload to either service, an interface will open to collect your Twitter or Facebook login information. You may also select to send the picture within a message on the PlayStation Network to your friends.

You may create a caption for your image. Twitter images may have up to 140 characters per caption. Facebook images may have up to 1000 characters per caption. Through the Facebook integration settings, it is also possible to setup the particular distribution list able to view your PS4 uploads. When tweeting a screenshot on Twitter, an automatic #PS4share hashtag will appear.

RockManDan

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3168
  • Without Great Courses There Can Be No Great Golf
« Reply #25 on: October 16, 2015, 05:22:37 PM »
I share the scene shots to myself on FB, download them to my tablet and then add them to the post here.  I too wish there was a way to turn off the HUD for photos.
i9 9900k 8 Core 5.O GHz. 
Asus ROG STRIX Z390 E Gaming.
64 GB DDR4 3600 RAM
2X Samsung 970 EVO 500 GB m2 RAID level 0
EVGA GTX 1080 SC. Windows 10 64 Bit
Rosewill Hive 1000W PSU

pyates

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1281
« Reply #26 on: October 19, 2015, 08:00:04 PM »
Thought I'd dig this out as the question about how to take pics came up.  I have a slightly different process than I've seen here on PS4:

Use the flyovers whilst playing to get pics without the HUD.  You can do 'play from here' from strange locations to start flyovers from wherever you like... But to take the pic you have to jump on that share button at exactly the right time!

Once you have your pic I send them via messages to my girlfriends account on my PS4.  She isn't a big fan... But understanding :).  I then use the PlayStation companion App on tablet to get to the messages and obtain the pics.  You can probably log in from PC somehow.  You only need to log into your own account and view sent messages not anyone else's account

Hope this helps
Full Courses:
Sandy Foot Links (TGCTLive Olympic Entry)
Royal Brumby
Tye Dunes II
Tye Dunes
Marazion Golf Club
University Links (TGCT 2015 Open Championship)

TheHack

  • *
  • Guest
« Reply #27 on: April 28, 2016, 09:40:24 PM »
nice,,

regarding your comment ,
"4) Post editing.  Obviously, I crop all of my photos to remove the top and bottom portions and resize them to a more suitable size for the forums.  Currently I go with 980 pixels wide, but it's really up to you."

Isn't the main reason cropping is needed to get rid of the Camera Settings box that show in the capture? WHY did they decide that should be included in the screenshot. Unless i'm missing a setting to not have that show in the shot, I can't find a setting for that.

Update :
thanks taste for the f11 tip on the gncd , I cant believe i did not find that earlier.:)
« Last Edit: August 19, 2016, 05:32:00 PM by TheHack »

Tuco

  • *
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 373
« Reply #28 on: August 18, 2016, 11:40:10 PM »
To Bradley, many thanks for your settings and your informative post.

I am able to use F12, able to make all of your recommended settings.  However, now what?  From other posts, it seems that I should hit [Enter] on my keyboard or "A" on my controller.  Does this indeed take the photo?  Is there any indication that a photo has been taken?  And if it has been taken, where is it?  I have scoured my hard drive and can't find any jpgs or indeed any other image files associated with HB or Steam.  Any ideas?  Thanks in advance.
The Golf Club 2019:

Jules Haven Wilderness Golf
The Links at Dakota Bay


The Golf Club 2:

Jules Haven Wilderness Golf
The Links at Dakota Bay

tastegw

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2016
  • only on tuesdays
« Reply #29 on: August 18, 2016, 11:58:47 PM »
nice,,

regarding your comment ,
"4) Post editing.  Obviously, I crop all of my photos to remove the top and bottom portions and resize them to a more suitable size for the forums.  Currently I go with 980 pixels wide, but it's really up to you."

Isn't the main reason cropping is needed to get rid of the Camera Settings box that show in the capture? WHY did they decide that should be included in the screenshot. Unless i'm missing a setting to not have that show in the shot, I can't find a setting for that.

either f11 gets rid of all the hud while in gncd.   
i will....

 

space-cash