Course Generator - Hole Par

  • 5 Replies
  • 2610 Views

Dazmaniac

  • *
  • Guest
« on: January 26, 2014, 12:31:12 PM »
How will the CG handle setting par for specific holes? Has it been programmed to make a hole a particular par depending on how long it is?

If so, can these values be manually overridden?

As some courses now see Par 4 holes in excess of 500 yds, I just wondered how the CG has been designed to handle holes like this when auto-generating a course.

 ;)

Dave McFarland HB

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 70
  • TGC Coder (Graphics/Course Generator)
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2014, 05:22:30 PM »
Par is currently assigned based on length, but since our global rankings aren't related par, I expect we'll be adding a manual option.  You have enough flexibility in the editor to make a hole that doesn't match the typical par for its length, so there's no reason not to let the author assign it.,
« Last Edit: January 26, 2014, 06:21:40 PM by Dave McFarland HB »

freeege

  • *
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2014, 05:43:30 PM »
That is excellent new Dave!

Seamount4Life

  • *
  • golf-beta
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1041
  • www.raincitygamers.com
    • Rain City Gamers
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2014, 08:37:17 PM »
another quick question in regards to this...
Will it max out at a par 72? or will the par for the total course be flexible. (I'm assuming it can be less than that for par 3 courses or courses that don't have 18 holes.)

Dave McFarland HB

  • *
  • GroupMember
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 70
  • TGC Coder (Graphics/Course Generator)
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2014, 09:42:44 PM »
It's flexible.  They could all be par-3s or par-6s.  Technically you can fit a hole that's over 2.5km (1.5mi) long if you like that sort of thing. :)

Seamount4Life

  • *
  • golf-beta
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1041
  • www.raincitygamers.com
    • Rain City Gamers
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2014, 12:19:08 AM »
Great info! Thanks Dave!

 

space-cash