Season Mode not Advancing Again

  • 51 Replies
  • 17092 Views

HB_KeithC

  • *
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5696
« Reply #15 on: July 18, 2015, 03:30:52 PM »
I always go back to the dashboard, hit the start button while on the Golf Club and quit out of the game.  Being that this issue only appears on the XB1, it must have to do with the architecture of the console and how it allows games/apps to run in the background.

@Tarbat   You see that when you leave Seasons mode.  As soon as you play a regular round, it will then show your handicap.  I just went to the tee box in a regular round and then quit back to the dash.  It then showed my handicap as normal.

zidolos

  • *
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
« Reply #16 on: July 19, 2015, 12:47:21 AM »
Ive now had that pan till i restart the game thing happen 3 times now... Sort out giving up on seasons for a while as I've now played about 10 events with about 6 counting

tarbat

  • *
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 217
« Reply #17 on: July 23, 2015, 07:52:33 AM »
I just played through Season One on my XB1 and it advanced right past Black Brook without issue.  This was on my own console, not a developer console.   This is the weirdest part about this issue, making it so hard to identify and fix.  Some see it, some don't.  Then across those that see it, they have it happen at different events over the Seasons.

So, I've spent the morning documenting how to re-create this problem.  Follow these steps (on XB1):
1. Delete your saved game for TGC from console and cloud.
2. Startup TGC, and reset all your preferences, left-stick swing, etc.
3. Start a new Season.
4. Play the first hole.
5. Go shopping, so exit to TGC menu, goto the XB dashboard, menu quit TGC, and power-off.
6. Power on, startup TGC.
7. Play the remaining holes on the first 9-hole course, win, and proceed okay.
8. Play the second 18-hole course, and win.
9. Lockup........ John then tells you that you have officially won the tournament, your number one overall this season, and that unlocking the next season is going to be a piece of cake.    Video of this is on youtube at http://youtu.be/NAPdF2UnV4Y

There are no buttons that I can press to proceed, other than closing TGC, by going to the XB dashboard, and menu clicking on TGC to QUIT.

Please HB, get this fixed quickly.  It's been over a month now that this problem has been going on, I bought the Seasons Update to play through several cups, etc., not to be forever doomed to play the same two rounds over and over and over again.
XB1

tarbat

  • *
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 217
« Reply #18 on: July 23, 2015, 09:55:27 AM »
So, I gave it one more try.  Exactly the same as before, I end up with a beautiful view of the camera panning across the final green, but no way of progressing to the next round of the season.  Full video showing the final steps to reproduce the problem can be viewed at http://youtu.be/COL9q2M-su8

If I quit the game, when I return I've lost my season progress again :(

This problem was first reported over 11 weeks ago, and yet still we can't progress through the season mode.  It's about time HB:
  1. Withdraw the DLC from sale.
  2. Either give us all a refund on this broken DLC, or authorise Microsoft (and other retailers) to give a refund to everyone who has bought the Seasons DLC.

This should be HB's TOP PRIORITY.  Forget about people only being able to hit 98%, the Season Mode is completely broken, so must take TOP PRIORITY.  Can we please have a clear statement from HB on when this will definitely be fixed.  Its easy to reproduce, as demonstrated above.

BTW, I did a search, and found over 25 instances of problems and bugs in the Seasons Mode.
http://www.hb-studios.com/forum/index.php?topic=11960.msg131893#msg131893
http://www.hb-studios.com/forum/index.php?topic=11951.msg131789#msg131789
http://www.hb-studios.com/forum/index.php?topic=11891.msg130857#msg130857
http://www.hb-studios.com/forum/index.php?topic=11883.msg130727#msg130727
http://www.hb-studios.com/forum/index.php?topic=11830.msg130248#msg130248
http://www.hb-studios.com/forum/index.php?topic=11818.msg130119#msg130119
http://www.hb-studios.com/forum/index.php?topic=11810.msg130016#msg130016
http://www.hb-studios.com/forum/index.php?topic=11797.msg129913#msg129913
http://www.hb-studios.com/forum/index.php?topic=11725.msg129085#msg129085
http://www.hb-studios.com/forum/index.php?topic=11722.msg129073#msg129073
http://www.hb-studios.com/forum/index.php?topic=11721.msg129057#msg129057
http://www.hb-studios.com/forum/index.php?topic=11681.msg128421#msg128421
http://www.hb-studios.com/forum/index.php?topic=11674.msg128361#msg128361
http://www.hb-studios.com/forum/index.php?topic=11564.msg126703#msg126703
http://www.hb-studios.com/forum/index.php?topic=11563.msg126702#msg126702
http://www.hb-studios.com/forum/index.php?topic=11560.msg126618#msg126618
http://www.hb-studios.com/forum/index.php?topic=11432.msg125049#msg125049
http://www.hb-studios.com/forum/index.php?topic=11364.msg124023#msg124023
http://www.hb-studios.com/forum/index.php?topic=11317.msg123488#msg123488
http://www.hb-studios.com/forum/index.php?topic=11236.msg122304#msg122304
http://www.hb-studios.com/forum/index.php?topic=11209.msg121971#msg121971
http://www.hb-studios.com/forum/index.php?topic=11204.msg121864#msg121864
http://www.hb-studios.com/forum/index.php?topic=10941.msg118198#msg118198
http://www.hb-studios.com/forum/index.php?topic=10784.msg116020#msg116020
http://www.hb-studios.com/forum/index.php?topic=10768.msg115845#msg115845
http://www.hb-studios.com/forum/index.php?topic=10569.msg113807#msg113807
XB1

HB_KeithC

  • *
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5696
« Reply #19 on: July 23, 2015, 10:59:39 AM »
Thanks for the feedback!

rodleydragons

  • *
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
« Reply #20 on: July 23, 2015, 04:37:05 PM »
Yep, still having the same issue .. I tried deleting everything and restarting a new season in hope. Slightly different this time. I played Atacama Dessert on amateur season, it said at the end after I had finished the round, "congratulations on winning the tournament" even though I came 6th..  I went on to next event and it took me to the start of the same Tournament again.  I just cannot progress past this (even with a higher finish)..

tarbat

  • *
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 217
« Reply #21 on: July 25, 2015, 09:02:40 AM »
Thanks for the feedback!

Keith, has my feedback helped you solve the problem?

Every weekend I sit down to finally play Season mode, and every weekend I find I can't play Season mode.  I paid good money for the Season mode DLC, and so far have had zero value from it.  A simple update is needed - when do you expect to have this fixed?  My patience is running out.  Without some sort of career/season structure to TGC, I find no motivation to play it :(

I note that you stated in the Dev Diary many months ago:
"Bryan had to break the save game feature for a bug fix in another area which in turn broke all my progress in Season Mode. I was very disappointed to say the least. My career at that point was going swimmingly but now I’m going to have to start again. And you guys think making games is easy!"

Does this not give you a clue about what's causing this problem?
« Last Edit: July 25, 2015, 09:21:49 AM by tarbat »
XB1

tarbat

  • *
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 217
« Reply #22 on: July 25, 2015, 01:10:23 PM »
So, more "feedback" if anyone from HB is even bothering reading these posts.  If I lose my second round, coming in 70th, then I progress to the next round okay.  So, clue for your programmers.  Something in the logic where you decide that the player has won the season's cup BEFORE they've completed all the rounds in that season is probably causing this lockup.  Hope someone appreciates all the testing I'm doing here, it's not my idea of a great round of golf :(
XB1

HB_KeithC

  • *
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5696
« Reply #23 on: July 25, 2015, 10:06:08 PM »
Unfortunately it's not a "simple update", otherwise it would have been done.  I send everything you post to the dev team to try to help them solve this issue.  We really do appreciate the feedback you have provided.

tarbat

  • *
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 217
« Reply #24 on: July 26, 2015, 03:58:03 AM »
Unfortunately it's not a "simple update", otherwise it would have been done.

When I said a "simple update", I meant an answer to my question:

when do you expect to have this fixed?

A major feature of TGC, Season Mode, is broken, and I thought you would have some idea when this will be fixed.  Also, given the numerous reports of it not working, I thought a responsible action would have been to withdrawn the Season Mode DLC from sale, and offer a refund to all of us that have bought something that doesn't work.

Has anyone actually managed to progress through all the tours in season mode?
« Last Edit: July 26, 2015, 04:40:30 AM by tarbat »
XB1

IDontShineShoesAnymore

  • *
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1556
« Reply #25 on: July 26, 2015, 04:34:01 PM »
Doubt anyone on these forums actually tried it. Its for new players I guess. I am not new but was really looking forward to it. It doesn't work on the ps4 either, so I am just waiting for a fix.
"We don't see that on our end"

tarbat

  • *
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 217
« Reply #26 on: July 26, 2015, 04:37:28 PM »
Doubt anyone on these forums actually tried it. Its for new players I guess. I am not new but was really looking forward to it. It doesn't work on the ps4 either, so I am just waiting for a fix.

Thanks for the response.

So does this finally disprove HB's theory that this is an XB1 architecture problem?  My suspicion is that Season Mode simply doesn't work, for anybody, on any platform, and how it passed any significant level of testing is beyond me.
« Last Edit: July 26, 2015, 04:43:00 PM by tarbat »
XB1

Ensor42

  • *
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
« Reply #27 on: July 26, 2015, 08:05:50 PM »

So does this finally disprove HB's theory that this is an XB1 architecture problem?  My suspicion is that Season Mode simply doesn't work, for anybody, on any platform, and how it passed any significant level of testing is beyond me.

Just for the record, I've played through the seasons mode on XB1 without a problem.  After reading the issues that people were having, I was expecting it to go wrong after every round, but somehow it didn't. I understand the frustration of those who weren't so lucky, but it clearly doesn't happen in all cases.

HB_KeithC

  • *
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5696
« Reply #28 on: July 26, 2015, 11:48:24 PM »
Doubt anyone on these forums actually tried it. Its for new players I guess. I am not new but was really looking forward to it. It doesn't work on the ps4 either, so I am just waiting for a fix.

When you say it isn't working on PS4, what does that mean?  You get the same issue that the XB1 users are seeing?  I looked back through the PS4 bug reporting section and do not see any posts talking about this same issue.

tarbat

  • *
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 217
« Reply #29 on: July 27, 2015, 05:21:22 AM »
Just for the record, I've played through the seasons mode on XB1 without a problem.

Thanks, that's really helpful to know, and gives me some hope that I haven't bought a pup.

I would still like HB to give some indication of when they expect to get this fixed.  Is it days/weeks/months?  They've had over 11 weeks now to try to fix this, and so far, what progress has been made?  Is someone working on resolving this full-time, and what priority are they giving to fixing this?

In its current form, the game is unplayable.
« Last Edit: July 27, 2015, 05:37:20 AM by tarbat »
XB1

 

space-cash